Our Indy Lights Team Profile

We started our first Indy Lights programme in the best possible fashion in 2015, claiming the first three race victories of the season and going on to mount a championship campaign that saw the team compete for the title until the season finale.  Finishing our first season in the US third in the Drivers’ standings and second in the Teams’ championship, the Carlin team took championship honours in only it’s second season in Indy Lights, claiming the 2017 Drivers’ title with Ed Jones as well as the Teams’ championship title.  

Introduced in 2015, the current Indy Lights car features a 450bhp 2.0-litre turbocharged engine produced by AER. The car also features a 50bhp push-to-pass feature and races on Cooper Tires, a manufacturer that Carlin are already familiar with through the team’s multiple British F3 titles. With a chassis from Dallara, the Indy Lights series also sees Carlin continue a long relationship with the Italian race car manufacturer. Lighter than its predecessor at 635kg and with more power, the IL-15 is an exciting challenge for young drivers.

The Series is also the perfect training ground for young drivers. Of the 2015 Indy 500 starting grid, no fewer than 19 drivers had an Indy Lights background.  Carlin’s Max Chilton graduated to IndyCar in 2016 with Chip Ganassi Racing after his race winning form with Carlin in 2015.

Carlin field a quartet of drivers in 2017, with Rising Star Racing driver Neil Alberico, 2016 BRDC British F3 champion Matheus Leist, Zach Claman De Melo and Garth Rickards. 

Carlin return to the series in 2021.  Alex Peroni joins the team from the FIA F3 Championship in Europe.  The Australian’s team mate will be announced shortly.  


Carlin return to Indy Lights wi...

2016 Indy Lights Champions Carlin will re-join the Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires Series for the 2021 season with former FIA F3 driver Alex Peroni. The Anglo-American...

Read More

Car Specs


450bhp 2.0-litre turbocharged


Dallara - carbon fibre


Cooper Tires slicks



Special Features

50bhp push-to-pass