The BRDC British Formula 3 Championship is run by MSVR and comprises 24 races across eight events. The weekend format includes a 20-minute qualifying session and three 20 minute races – testing is not limited like so many championship, and is also a common feature in the days leading up to the race weekend.

Introduced in 2016, the Tatuus-Cosworth MSV F4-016 – was a brand new chassis designed and developed in order to bridge the gap between the first step of single seaters to European Formula Three championships and the GP3 Series. The car features a fully carbon fibre chassis and a four cylinder normally aspirated Cosworth engine producing 230bhp at 8000rpm while remaining on Pirelli tyres. 

Carlin finished second in the team’s inaugural season in the championship with Ricky Collard.  Carlin went on to dominate the 2017 season and claimed the title with Enaam Ahmed, as well as finishing second with James Pull.  In 2018, Nicolai Kjaergaard claimed second in the standings, with Billy Monger also racing for the team and claiming podiums on his return to racing. 2019 saw yet more success for the team, with Clement Novalak crowned champion and Kaylen Frederick taking multiple wins.  

Frederick stayed with the team in 2020 and went on to take the Drivers’ title following a dominant season in the series.

Zak O’Sullivan, Christian Mansell and Bryce Aron make up Carlin’s 2021 line-up.  


Car Specs


Carbon-Fibre Tatuus chassis


2-Litre 230bhp spec Cosworth engine


Side impace panels, front and rear carbon impace structures, wheel tethers


Adjustable front-wing, two piece rear-wing, F1-style Front splitter and rear diffuser


Sadev six speed sequential gearbox with paddle shift






Twin wishbone suspension with two-way adjustable dampers and adjustable front and rear anti-roll bars