Formula 4

The FIA F4 British Championship – Certified by FIA, Powered by Ford EcoBoost – is one of the most exciting developments in junior  motorsport for decades, which has seen Carlin claim the championship in every season they have competed in so far.

Carlin won the inaugural race in 2015 and also claimed the first championship title with Lando Norris.  The Surrey based squad repeated the feat in 2016, taking the title with rookie Max Fewtrell in 2016 and again in 2017 with Jamie Caroline.

Despite taking one year out, the team were once again crowned champions in 2019 with rookie Zane Maloney taking the title. Zak O'Sullivan ran a close second in the 2020 Drivers' standing to finish the season Vice-Champion after a thrilling season finale with Carlin once again sealing the Team Championship.

The championship features a race-proven Ford 1.6L EcoBoost engine, a new carbon fibre monocoque chassis and will be showcased alongside the British Touring Car Championship, providing coverage on Britain’s biggest motorsport TV package on ITV4.

The F4 British Championship is the only single-seater championship in the UK open to 15 year-olds, making it a great place to start a career following a graduation from karting.

The carbon-fibre monocoque is designed to meet FIA standards has been produced by leading European manufacturer Mygale.  All engines will be supplied by one engine preparer and all tyres will come from Hankook – the same tyre as featured in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship.

10 meetings, featuring 30 races will feature on the BTCC support package at all major British circuits.

Roman Bilinski, Dougie Bolger, Kai Askey and Tasanapol (Tern) Inthraphuvasak join Carlin for the 2021 season.

Vehicle Specs


Ford EcoBoost 1.6-lire, 160PS


6-speed sequential gearbox with paddle shift

Overall Weight:

625kg (inc Driver)


2-piston callipers


Mygale FIA homologated carbon monocoque

Wheels & Tyres:

Hankook racing slicks

Front Wheels: 8"x13"

Rear Wheels: 10"x13"


4340mm x 1750mm x 950mm


Double wishbones and pushrods twin adjustable dampers, adjustable anti-roll bar



2021 FIA Formula 2 - Rounds 1&2
27-28 March 2021


2021 British F4: Rounds 1-3
8-9 May 2021

Snetterton 300

2021 British F4: Rounds 4-6
15-16 May 2021

Brands Hatch Indy

2021 British F4: Rounds 7-9
12-13 June 2021

Oulton Park

2021 British F4: Rounds 10-12
30 July - 1 August 2021


2021 British F4: Rounds 13-15
14-15 August 2021


2021 British F4: Rounds 16-18
28-29 August 2021


2021 British F4: Rounds 19-21
18-19 September 2021


2021 British F4: Rounds 22-24
25-26 September 2021

Donington Park

2021 British F4: Rounds 25-27
9-10 October 2021

Brands Hatch GP

2021 British F4: Rounds 28-30
23-24 October 2021