Carlin crowned Teams’ Champion in British Formula Four

Formula 4
October 12, 2022

Following an incredible season, Carlin have been crowned the 2022 F4 British Teams’ Championship as the year concluded this weekend at Brands Hatch. Ollie Gray was titled the Vice Champion while Ugo Ugochukwu took the Rookie Championship title. All three drivers, Gray, Ugochukwu and Louis Sharp took wins throughout the season contributing to the overall success of the team; an incredible all-round effort.

Brands Hatch provided the perfect backdrop for the season finale and saw action all round once again. With Carlin heading into the final three races with a huge margin, the championship could effectively be wrapped up on Saturday. A challenging race for Sharp which saw his car stop on track due to a a mechanical issue left him pointless on Saturday however Gray walked away with a podium in second while Ugochukwu took fourth.

Sunday brought two final races to see out the season. The first of which in the morning saw the reverse grid race leading to a multitude of overtakes. For Gray, the race ended in heartbreak as he retired after two laps. Sharp was back up and running to take a brilliant podium in third while Ugochukwu continued to collect points for his rookie title, taking fifth at the flag.

The final race of the British Formula Four season got underway following a slight delay. However it was once again a thrilling race when it did get going. Signing off the season with a double podium and in style, Sharp took second and Gray third. While rookie champion Ugochukwu crossed the line sixth.

Over the course of the season Vice champion Gray collected a total of two victories, 16 podiums and a pole position on his way to his second-place finish. Rookie champ Ugochukwu took two wins, 11 podiums and two pole positions as he also secured third overall in the championship standings. Sharp, who missed the opening round of the season due to his young age, collected two wins and 12 podiums. The hard work from the talented trio, and the entire Formula Four team, led to Carlin clinching the Teams’ Championship with a margin of 153 points over their nearest competitor.